Government Agency

Obama Administration

U.S. President Barack Obama's official photograph in the Oval Office on 6 December 2012. (link)

January 20, 2009 – January 20, 2017

Preceded By:

George W. Bush Administration

Succeeded By:

Trump Administration

The administration of Barack Obama, 44th President of the United States, lasted from 2009 to 2017. Obama, a Democrat, succeeded Republican President George W. Bush. He was succeeded by Republican Donald Trump.

Notable People

First Family

Barack Obama, President of the United States

Michelle Obama, First Lady of the United States

Cabinet Members

Joe Biden, Vice President of the United States

Directors, Employees & Supporters

  1. Steven Chu
    Secretary of Energy (2009-2013)
  2. Thomas Nides
    Deputy Secretary of State (2011-2013)
  3. Rahm Emanuel
    White House Chief of Staff (2009-2010)
  4. Hillary Clinton
    Secretary of State
  5. Barack Obama
    President of the United States
  6. Joe Biden
    Vice President of the United States
  7. John Podesta
    Counselor to the President
  8. Lisa Jackson
    Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency (2009-2013)
  9. Carol Browner
    Director, White House Office of Energy and Climate Change Policy (2009-2011)
  10. Valerie Jarrett
    Senior Advisor to the President
  11. Cecilia Munoz
    Director, Domestic Policy Council (2012-2017)
  12. Eric Holder
    Attorney General (2009-2015)
  13. Elizabeth Sherwood-Randall
    Deputy Secretary of Energy (2014-2017)
  14. Ben Rhodes
    Deputy National Security Advisor (2009-2017)
  15. Terri Ann Lowenthal
    Member, Transition Team (Commerce Agency Review Team)
  16. Jake Sullivan
    National Security Advisor, Vice President Joe Biden (2013-2014)
  17. Wally Adeyemo
    Deputy National Security Advisor
  18. Brian Deese
    Senior Advisor
  19. Dennis Cheng
    Deputy Chief of Protocol, Department of State
  20. Jennifer Palmieri
    White House Director of Communications
  21. Huma Abedin
    Deputy Chief of Staff, Secretary of State Hillary Clinton
  22. John Bisognano
    White House Associate Director of Public Engagement
  23. Scott Nathan
    Associate Director for General Government Programs, Office of Management and Budget
  24. Ronald Klain
    Chief of Staff, Vice President Joe Biden (2009-2011)
  25. Anne-Marie Slaughter
    Director of Policy Planning, Department of State (2009-2011)
  26. Tom Perez
    Secretary of Labor (2013-2017)
  27. Vanita Gupta
    Deputy Assistant Attorney General
  28. Brian Fallon
    Director of the Office of Public Affairs, Department of Justice
  29. Rhea Sun Suh
    Assistant Secretary, Department of the Interior
  30. Julianna Smoot
    Deputy Assistant to the President
  31. Patrick Rodenbush
    Assistant Press Secretary
  32. A’shanti Gholar
    Special Assistant to the Secretary, Department of Labor
  33. Patrick Gaspard
    Former U.S. Ambassador to South Africa (2013-2016)
  34. Robert Greenstein
    Transition Team
  35. Van Jones
    Special Advisor for Green Jobs
  36. Mike Lux
    Transition Team
  37. Robert Reich
    Transition Team
  See an error? Let us know!