Political Party/527

Obama 2008 Presidential Campaign

Successor Campaign:

Obama 2012 Presidential Campaign

Contact InfluenceWatch with suggested edits or tips for additional profiles.

For more information, see Organizing for Action (Nonprofit)

Also see Obama Administration

Barack Obama’s 2008 presidential campaign began when then-Illinois Sen. Barack Obama declared his candidacy for U.S. president on February 10, 2007. Obama became the Democratic Party’s presidential nominee on June 8, 2008 after competitor Hillary Clinton dropped out of the race. Then-Sen. Joe Biden (D-DE) was chosen to be Obama’s vice presidential running mate on August 22, 2008.

Obama defeated Republican Party rival Sen. John McCain (AZ) on November 4, 2008.

Obama’s 2008 and 2012 campaigns were officially called “Obama for America”; following his 2008 victory, Obama for America was eventually replaced by a permanent 501(c)(4) advocacy group called Organizing for Action.

Directors, Employees & Supporters

  1. Justine Sarver
    Southwest Regional Director
  2. Neera Tanden
    Domestic Policy Director
  3. Patrick Gaspard
    National Political Director
  4. Andrew Bleeker
    Lead Digital Marketing Strategist
  5. Chris Hughes
    Digital Architect
  6. Ben Rhodes
    Senior Speechwriter
  7. Jake Sullivan
    Debate Preparation Advisor
  8. Maria Elena Durazo
    National Co-Chair
  9. Julianna Smoot
    National Finance Director
  10. Alida Garcia
    California Latino Vote Deputy Director
  11. James Zogby
    Senior Advisor
  12. Jeff Blodgett
    Minnesota State Director
  13. Joel Benenson
  14. Barack Obama
    Presidential Nominee
  15. Michael Dorsey
    Energy and Environment Team
  16. Demond Drummer
    Field Organizer
  17. Natalie Foster
    Former Staffer
  18. Carlos P. Odio
    Former Deputy Latino Vote Director
  19. Land Tawney
    Member, Montana Sportsmen for Obama Committee
  20. Marc La Vorgna
    Former Press Secretary, New York State
  21. Adam Abram
  See an error? Let us know!