Government Agency

Biden Administration – Department of the Treasury

This profile contains Biden Administration nominations and appointments made at the U.S. Department of the Treasury.

Nominations and Appointments

Janet Yellen is Secretary of the Treasury. She was formerly a Distinguished Fellow in Residence at the Brookings Institution and Professor Emerita at the University of California, Berkeley. She also formerly served as Chair of the Federal Reserve Board from 2014-2018 as an Obama Administration nominee, and before that was Vice Chair of the Federal Reserve Board from 2010-2014, President and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco from 2004-2010, and Chair of the White House Council of Economic Advisors from 1997-1999 during the Clinton Administration. She has served as President of the American Economic Association, as a member of the advisory boards of the Bloomberg New Economy Forum, the Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget, and the Fix the Debt Coalition, and on the steering committee of the Washington Center for Equitable Growth. She has also held memberships in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Economic Strategy Group of the Aspen Institute, the Group of Thirty, the Council on Foreign Relations, and the Climate Leadership Council.[1]

Wally Adeyemo is Deputy Secretary of the Treasury. He had served most recently as President of the Obama Foundation since August 2019. Before that, he was a Senior Advisor at BlackRock. During the Obama Administration, he served as Deputy National Security Advisor and Deputy Director of the National Economic Council at the White House, Deputy Chief of Staff and Senior Advisor at the U.S. Department of the Treasury, Chief of Staff at the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, and Deputy Executive Secretary at the U.S. Department of the Treasury. He has been a non-resident fellow at New York University School of Law, a Senior Advisor at the Center for Strategic and International Studies,[2] an advisory council member at National Security Action,[3] and a board member at Demos[4] and the Golden State Opportunity Foundation.[5]

Jonathan Davidson is Assistant Secretary for Legislative Affairs. He had been serving as chief of staff to U.S. Senator Michael Bennet (D-CO) since 2011, and before that served as chief of staff to Senator Paul Sarbanes (D-MD), chief of staff to Representative John Sarbanes (D-MD), and chief counsel to Senator Mark Warner (D-VA). Davidson also served as the economic nominations confirmation team lead for the Biden-Harris Transition.[6]

Graham Steele is Assistant Secretary for Financial Institutions. He most recently served as director of the Corporations and Society Initiative at Stanford Graduate School of Business. Before that, he was a staff member at the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco, served as minority chief counsel for the U.S. Senate Committee on Banking, Housing & Urban Affairs from 2015 to 2017, and was a legislative assistant for U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) from 2010 to 2015. He also served as a policy counsel at Congress Watch, a division of Public Citizen.[7]

Lily Batchelder is Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy. She most recently served as a professor at New York University School of Law and the Wagner School of Public Service. During the Obama Administration, she served as deputy director of the White House National Economic Council and as deputy assistant to the President. She also formerly served as majority chief tax counsel for the U.S. Senate Committee on Finance, and was an associate at the law firm of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom. She is a member of the National Academy of Social Insurance and has served on the board of Tax Analysts.[8]


  1. “Janet L. Yellen.” Brookings Institution. Accessed December 11, 2020. Available at: ^
  2. “Wally Adeyemo” Linkedin. Accessed March 26, 2021. Available at: ^
  3. “Who We Are.” National Security Action. April 3, 2019 (accessed via WayBack Machine). Available at: ^
  4. Return of Organization Exempt from Income Tax (Form 990). Demos. 2018. Part VII. ^
  5. Return of Organization Exempt from Income Tax (Form 990). Golden State Opportunity Foundation. 2018. Part VII. ^
  6. “President Biden Announces Intent to Nominate Key Roles for the Department of Treasury.” The White House. March 11, 2021. Available at: ^
  7. “President Biden Announces Three Key Nominations.” The White House. July 19, 2021. Available at: ^
  8. “Lily Batchelder.” New York University. Accessed November 12, 2021. Available at: ^

Directors, Employees & Supporters

  1. Wally Adeyemo
    Deputy Secretary of the Treasury
  See an error? Let us know!