Democracy Forward


Tax ID:


Tax-Exempt Status:





Left-Leaning Litigation and Advocacy Group

Executive Director:

Anne Harkavy

Notable Advisory Board Members:

John Podesta

Marc Elias

Democracy Forward is a center-left litigation and advocacy organization created in 2016 and directed by former Obama administration officials and legal experts in the Democratic Party. The organization has been aggressive in targeting the Trump administration for what it deems “unlawful actions.” Anne Harkavy, a former general counsel to the Department of Energy under the Obama administration, is the group’s executive director.

Democracy Forward is the 501(c)(4) advocacy counterpart of the 501(c)(3) nonprofit Democracy Forward Foundation.

Directors, Employees & Supporters

  1. Faiz Shakir
    Board Member
  2. Scott Nathan
    Board Member
  3. Matthew Miller
    Board Member
  4. Mindy Myers
    Board Member
  5. Ronald Klain
    Board Member
  6. Maya Harris
    Board Member
  7. Anne Harkavy
    Executive Director
  8. Marc Elias
    Board Member
  9. John Podesta
    Board Member
  See an error? Let us know!